“Just like the ones I used to know…”

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow...

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow…

Just like Bing Crosby, I’m dreaming of a white Christmas. As a kid growing up in Yorkshire in the 1960s, my chums and I were treated to some wonderful snowfalls; drifts so high you could jump in them and cover yourself completely. Packed snow in the fields and icy pathways were perfect for sledging or sliding. In winter we always had a rope over our shoulders and a sledge trailing behind. When not racing down a hill we would have monumental snowball fights or roll up the snow into giant wheels which we would then climb on. We always had a snowman in the back yard and the Christmas tree in the living room was real and smelt of the forest. In the evenings we would wait for the glorious sunset when the orange light spread across the snow and made us all quiet and reflective – just happy to be young and alive in a winter wonderland.  Now it’s gone forever, a lost world where Christmas was Christmassy, authentic, real. Or was it?

Could this be real, or am I only dreaming?

Could this be real, or am I only dreaming?

Now I live in the south of Brazil where I’m not expecting a white Christmas. The last time snow fell in Porto Alegre, Pelé’s grandfather was wearing nappies. And it was July. So when I say I’m dreaming of a white Christmas, I mean just that: it’s a dream – a confection of the imagination. In fact, there never was a perfect, picture-postcard Christmas. Those images of sleigh bells, roasting chestnuts, log fires and mistletoe kisses are nothing but a fantasy. And my Yorkshire memories are idealised, purple-tinted. I don’t believe there ever were any “good old days”. That said, I do think that in the past Christmas was celebrated in ways we would hardly recognise today.

Not just the author of 'The Good Companians' and 'An Inspector Calls'. Bradford's own J. B. Priestley in the 1930s.

Not just the author of ‘The Good Companions’ and ‘An Inspector Calls’. Bradford’s own J. B. Priestley in the 1930s.

Bradford’s very own “famous author”, J.B. Priestley, describes Christmas before the First World War in his autobiography, Margin Released. The two main images he develops are abundance of food and drink at home: hocks of ham in the pantry, poultry fresh from the butcher, fruits and nuts, strong wines and liquors, beer and cigars. The other is hospitality. It was open-house, certainly amongst the middle-classes; all through the festive season friends and neighbours would drop in to have a drink and something to eat. And then there were games. Not just cards and board games, but charades and all kinds of dressing-up. And lots of piano-playing and singing. Priestley remembers parties almost every night in late December.

Everybody's invited to our Christmas party!

Everybody’s invited to our Christmas party!

Of course, some of this still sounds familiar to us, though the sense of community has vanished in our modern world. That and the fact that Christmas means wasting money on consumer goods from department stores. So, do I wish we could roll back the clocks to a bygone age? Yes, if we could edit out the nasties. A hundred years ago, certainly in England, most people were puritanical, narrow-minded and prejudiced. They believed God was watching their sins. There was also real poverty, lack of hygiene, appalling diseases and ignorance.

But I’m still a sucker for a Victorian Christmas card. No cars, no roads, no televisions, computers or muzak. Just people, horses, dogs and a chicken or two in the back yard. A quiet, peaceful, simple life. And a hearty welcome at every coaching inn! OK, that’s probably going a bit too far. Anyway, here’s the Christmas card I sent out this year.

Greetings! Good tidings! (...but why is that boy running away?)

…but why is that boy running away?

So all that’s left to say is: have a joyful, simple Christmas with peace and tranquility. And if that’s just not possible, close your eyes and dream.

Categories: Blighty, Brazil, Musings | Tags: , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on ““Just like the ones I used to know…”

  1. Have a great Christmas Martin! Hope you’ve stocked up on the real ale 😉

  2. You too, Ben!
    Real ale is nigh on impossible here…
    I’ve got two bottles of Young’s Double Chocolate and a mini barrel of Belgian (I won’t say the dreaded “lager” word) beer. They’re both in the fridge as it’s around 30 degrees just now.
    Send me a pint of Abbot, will you?

  3. Have a Merry Christmas, Martin! It’s Christmas Eve here in France and it’s not likely that it will snow. But we’re making do. I see you’re doing the same.

    Have a great time and thanks so much for the card!

  4. janeykate

    Oh, I love Victorian Christmas cards too, when at home I buy them off ebay, the more twee and nostalgic the better! And I LOVE those light up, snow covered model houses, inns, churches etc. Note to self… buy some of those off ebay too when I’m home! I wonder what Christmas in the sun will be like. I’ve never spent Christmas away from my family, nor anywhere hot. I wonder if Fortnum and Mason would deliver me a hamper out here 🙂 Love the writing btw!!! Just catching up on posts….
    Jane x

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

