Who is the Gaucho amigo?

In 1980 the redoubtable, inimitable Steely Dan released an album called ‘Gaucho’. “Wot dat mean?” I thought to myself at the time, cradling my new LP in a Bradford slum. And so, being endlessly fascinated by all ‘Danisms’, I immediately reached for my heavyweight dictionary. I remember the entry to this day: ‘A cowboy from the South American Pampas region’. How remote that seemed, how other-worldly, as far away from the north of England as Bethlehem or the Bermuda Triangle. Little did I know how my world would dramatically change.

Now Gauchos fill my life. I couldn’t rid myself of them even if I wanted to. But the Gaúchos (and Gaúchas) I meet and greet everyday are not cowboys or cowgirls. They are proud, hard-working Brazilians who love barbecued beef and coarse green tea sucked through a metal tube. Rio Grande do Sul, on the south side of Brazil, is Gaúcho country, where the cattle herders used to roam the Pampas plains in the 18th and 19th centuries. They were a proud bunch who resented encroachment from the north and fought for independence from the rest of Brazil. Even today, Gaúchos in Porto Alegre, where I live, readily admit they have more in common with other ‘Gauchos’ from nearby Uruguay and Argentina than they do with Brazilians in Rio or Bahia.

The immigrants who settled in the cooler climes of southern Brazil were predominantly Italian and German. Not natural bedfellows you might think, but with their stiff European edges smoothened by the long humid summers, the two cultures learned to mingle and merge. On the German side you have that pragmatic, Protestant work-ethic with the pioneering, mechanical mind-set and loud, beer-drinking heartiness. The Italians temper this will-to-succeed with their love of children, good food, gossip and, at least for the men, chasing women.

But there’s still enough of the Brazilian about these umpteenth generation Gaúchos to make the party swing; to spice up the sausage pizza with some of that hot samba sauce.

Categories: Brazil | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Who is the Gaucho amigo?

  1. Cimara Valim

    Hi, Fletcher! As a ‘gaúcha’, I’d like to say that you described very well this peculiar people from South Brazil. I must tell you even Brazilians from other regions couldn’t do this job so good as you did. Actually, because you are not out of this culture anymore, you are already part of it. Welcome to chimarrão world! As Vitor Ramil said in ‘Estética do Frio’ essay, “nós não estamos à margem de um centro, mas no centro de uma outra história”. And it’s trueI
    I use this opportunity to share a text of mine about gaúcho culture and history. Sorry, it’s in Portuguese… http://www.revistaevidencia.com.br/artigos/edicao-156—setembro/58-arte-e.html

    • Thank you for your flattering words, Cimara, though I’m sure you exaggerate my abilities. Still, the Gaúchos (and Gaúchas) in my life are warm and good-hearted and this makes my life in faraway Porto Alegre so much more rewarding. Now I’ll have a bash at reading your erudite article!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

